The woman who raised me!

I woke up this morning to my Amma’s knock on the door, bringing me chai. This is how I’ve started almost 80-85% of my days for the last 26 years, and it’s a routine I cherish. The last few years have been different, as I’ve been away from home.

The way I have been oriented, the way I saw things and responded to them and all have a greater share of influence from her. I could clearly remember how she had been for me in every phase of my life so far. Today she might not be as healthy and strong physically as she was a few years back, but she is the same!  From waking up early in the morning to going to bed last at home, she hustles all day for everyone ever since I know her.

When I look back to my childhood, I could see her singlehandedly completing all the household chores, while also preparing me for school. She carried me on her shoulder and brought me to school, around one kilometre away. After school, she would bring me back home in the evening and then prepare me for tuition. She would sit with me for hours for my homework and studies, all while managing multiple domestic tasks that demanded her attention. Like my LP school days, in my high school, higher secondary, and college days, this woman stood up for me by meeting all my needs. There was never a question of whether those needs were affordable or not, considering how expensive they were.

I am truly indebted! For the love, care, and sacrifices she has done for me. In the weakest days of my life, she stood like a pillar to back me. On the happiest days of my life, she shared the smile with me. I feel blessed to be her elder son.

Leave a comment